June Favourites – 10 tracks I’ve been listening to (Love Supreme special)

With Love Supreme Festival starting on 30 June, I’ve been listening mostly to Love Supreme Festival artists this month to prepare. The line up is one of the best I’ve seen – it is my fourth year in a row going! Here are some of my picks:

Herbie Hancock – Dolphin Dance

A classic. I’m intrigued as to what sort of songs Herbie will play in his set, but whatever he chooses I’m sure will be mind blowing.

Sons of Kemet – Inner Babylon

I think this tune will be great for dancing – the infectious nature will definitely be spreading through the crowd.

The Comet is Coming – Space Carnival

Another tune made for dancing! This is bound to get the crowd excited. I love the mix of artists at Love Supreme, and there really is something for everyone.

Clare Teal – Night and Day

I’ve watched Clare Teal in the Bristol Jazz and International Blues festival with a big band before which I really enjoyed, and I’m definitely going to catch her Love Supreme set.  Expect classic, swingin’ jazz.

Christian Scott – Diaspora

Christian Scott’s new album Diaspora was released on 23 June. I think his set will be inspiring to watch and intrigued to see what songs he plays.

The Jacksons – Blame it on the Boogie

I’m so excited to watch The Jacksons headline Love Supreme Festival this summer! Their timeless music is so upbeat and infectious.

Michael Jackson – The Way You Make Me Feel

Which leads me onto the man himself – Michael Jackson. I couldn’t listen to the Jackons without leading onto some MJ. His tracks never get old to me, and this one has stood out for me this month. I’m hoping that The Jacksons will also play some Michael Jackson tunes in their set.

Yussef Kamaal – Black Focus

I’ve recently got into their music, and am excited to see what boundaries they’ll be pushing at Love Supreme.

George Benson – On Broadway

The guitar/vocals soli section in the middle is amazing! I hope he does this live, wow.

Kamasi Washington – The Next Step

Kamasi’s album The Epic is just that – epic! I watched him last year at Love Supreme and his set was mesmerising – here’s hoping this year will be that and better! I really liked the way that he interacted with his band, and spent time telling us jokes and quips about how they grew up together – you can tell they are really connected as musicians.

Leave a Reply

